Bad As Me is Tom Waits’ first studio album of all new music in seven years. This pivotal work refines the music that has come before and signals a new direction. Waits, in possibly the finest voice of his career, worked with a veteran team of gifted musicians and longtime co-writer/producer Kathleen Brennan. From the opening horn-fueled chug of “Chicago,” to the closing barroom chorale of “New Year’s Eve,” Bad As Me displays the full career range of Waits’ songwriting, from beautiful ballads like “Last Leaf,” to the avant cinematic soundscape of “Hell Broke Luce,” a battlefront dispatch. On tracks like “Talking at the Same Time,” Waits shows off a supple falsetto, while on blues burners like “Raised Right Men” and the gospel tinged “Satisfied” he spits, stutters and howls. Like a good boxer, these songs are lean and mean, with strong hooks and tight running times. A pervasive sense of players delighting in each other’s musical company brings a feeling of loose joy even to the album’s saddest songs.

Bad As Me available October 24th.

Pre-order Bad As Me at the Tom Waits Store.
Get the "Bad As Me" MP3 at your favorite digital retailer.
View the "Bad As Me" lyrics here.

Bad As Me Tracklisting

01. Chicago
02. Raised Right Men
03. Talking At The Same Time
04. Get Lost
05. Face To The Highway
06. Pay Me
07. Back In The Crowd
08. Bad As Me
09. Kiss Me
10. Satisfied
11. Last Leaf
12. Hell Broke Luce
13. New Year's Eve Read More
There have been rumblings and rumors. New music from Tom Waits, you say? Come to on Tuesday August 23rd, and Mr. Waits himself will set the record straight. Read More
ANTI- Records and 170 Million Americans are pleased to announce the release of Raise Your Voice!, a 16-track compilation in support of public broadcasting. To get a free download of the compilation, which features "Make It Rain," visit and sign-up to be an advocate for public broadcasting. Read More

The brilliant and iconic photographer Anton Corbijn will be presenting a new series of works at The Foam gallery in Amsterdam from June 24 to September 1. In this exhibition, entitled "Inwards & Onwards," the photographer has aimed the camera at a few of his favorite artists, including Gerhard Richter, Alexander McQueen, Richard Prince, Iggy Pop, Damien Hirst, Tom Waits, Bruce Springsteen, Lucian Freud and Karel Appel.

Anton Corbijn’s love for the musical and creative spirit is well known. He is interested in how artists struggle with the creative process: the pain and the drama of the act of creation. His monumental black-and-white portraits blend austerity and aesthetics and attract attention because of the deliberate and exacting way they capture the character of the person being portrayed. The photos have their own unique kind of intimacy. This comes more from how well he is acquainted with his subject. In this series, Corbijn reveals an extremely personal and contemplative vision of artists which in many respects are decisive for our time and culture.

Inwards & Onwards by Anton Corbijn is on exhibit at Foam from 24 June to 1 September 2011. Open daily 10am – 6pm, Thurs/Fri 10am – 9pm. Tickets: €8. For more info go here. Read More
1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 ... 35